Game Design Discussion

Hang out here to discuss QT Games' projects, wish lists, movies, art, comics, fiction and games. Write your game reviews, movie reviews, brainstorm alternate movie storylines and more!

Game Design Discussion

Unread postby Bob Whitely » Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:14 pm

I thought it would be interesting to have a place to discuss game design. We've discussed it before in small doses, and I talk about it here and there on my blog—why I made some of the decisions I made, what appeals to me and what I'm shooting for with Cosmothea, but I want to hear your thoughts too!

Like, why do you play the specific games you do? What makes you love a game or hate it? What games do you like, but feel there's something missing—and what is that something you are craving for in that game, or in a game yet to come that would excite you and keep bringing you back for more.

Obviously as a game designer, I'd love to know that sort of stuff as it helps me in my own game design. A couple of considerations (as much for me as you to bear in mind):

• Cosmothea 5.0 isn't finished, so I wasn't intending to discuss it in this thread, since no one has even seen the full playtest document yet. I will probably use it as a point of reference at times, and when I do, I always do so as if the game is already done and how I am intending it to function. Time will tell whether I was successful
• It's impossible to please everyone (and it's not necessary to please everyone)
• No matter how good a game is, you'll always find something you don't care for, and that's okay
• Humans are creatures of habit, so the most popular game may not be the best game
• Sometimes a good/creative GM or good friends can make a bad game seem better than it really is
• Your level of interest in a genre can skew your interpretation of a game's fun factor and value